56 Amazing Fashion Quotes From Marc Jacobs

“I really do believe that art changes the landscape of the world.”

image

56 Amazing Fashion Quotes From Marc Jacobs

“I don’t want to sound too silly or pretentious about this, but, you know, I love being in Paris. I love working at Louis Vuitton. I love fashion. That’s why I do it. No one’s forcing me to do this. And nobody forces anyone to buy it. It’s a real love affair.”

“I’m not a yogi, but I know the sun salutation.”

“Whether it’s an $11 flip-flop or a $2 key ring or a $2,000 dress, they’re all done with integrity. They’re all done with a design sense. As long as the creativity exists, then I don’t think it’s a sellout. A sellout is putting your name on any piece of crap and then expecting people to buy it because it’s got your name on it.”

“I don’t see myself as being as big of an influence as other people seem to think.”

“I still appreciate individuality. Style is much more interesting than fashion, really.”

“Young girls need to know that sexiness is not being naked.”

“Let’s do what we love and do a lot of it.”

“I think there is something about luxury – it’s not something people need, but it’s what they want. It really pulls at their heart.”

“I’m not a model, so the idea of modelling a suit or clothes is weird in itself.”

“We’re developing things, but I don’t know what we’ll go with for the show, so I don’t like to talk about it.”

“I mean, I’d love to have a private jet – I know people who fly by private jet all the time… I’ve hitched a ride a few times and it is not overrated at all; it’s a great way to travel!”

“One thing that is exciting about fashion is the surprise element.People don’t know what they want. They just know when they see it.”

“Awkwardness gives me great comfort. I’ve never been cool, but I’ve felt cool. I’ve been in the cool place, but I wasn’t really cool – I was trying to pass for hip or cool. It’s the awkwardness that’s nice.”

“I love the entire ritual of getting dressed. When we do a fashion show, we try to send out a message; we couldn’t do that without the hair and makeup. The whole is equal to the sum of its parts.”

“You can go to Graff and buy a diamond that’s flawless. You aren’t going to be able to buy the same diamond at Fortunoff, but it’s still a diamond you can enjoy. If fashion can allow you to have the Chanel mystique through a lipstick, then why shouldn’t art allow you to have that through a sweatshirt that says ‘Cremaster’ on it?”

“I don’t think there is just one Louis Vuitton woman. That is why, for the fall/winter 2011 show, I loved the idea of lots of different characters – a wife, a mistress, a girlfriend – stepping out of the row of hotel elevators.”

“Sephora is a mecca for cosmetics, and it supports what I enjoy: You go into the store, and touch it, and try it, and love it. I’ve never bought anything on the Internet. I like experience.”

“I always say that I’m not the director, I’m part of the team.”

“I love to take things that are everyday and comforting and make them into the most luxurious things in the world.”

“To me, beauty and makeup and color is like the finishing touch on everything.”

“I guess when I look over my shoulder at other designers, I feel like people are so definitive. It’s so clear to me what their aesthetic is, what they’re projecting. And I look at my own work and I think, Who could ever decipher what the hell is going on?”

“Sometimes, you just have to clear your head and get out to see other things. It is very important to be nourished. I love to go to museums and galleries, I like to see theatre, film, dance – anything creative. It doesn’t promise you inspiration, but it nourishes your creative soul, and that’s good.”

“Luxury is anything you don’t need, right? I mean, you need food, water, clothing, shelter… but good wine, good food, beautiful interiors, nice clothes; those aren’t necessities, they are luxuries – it’s all luxury.”

“What’s worked for me is not quitting and being passionate about what I do and not giving up – and when I don’t believe in myself, turning to others who believe in me.”

“Clothes mean nothing until someone lives in them.”

“We don’t need fashion to survive, we just desire it so much.”

“I always find beauty in things that are odd and imperfect – they are much more interesting.”

“Grunge is a hippied romantic version of punk.”

“What’s worked for me is not quitting and being passionate about what I do and not giving up – and when I don’t believe in myself, turning to others who believe in me.”

“When you see a fashion show, you see those seven minutes of what was six months of tedious work of, you know, going up an inch and down an inch, changing it from one shade of red to another shade of red. So it’s the same as any creative process. The result is what we see, but the process is really labor intensive and work.”

“I’m not good at hiding my feelings. I’m also not good at lying. I’m very open about everything.”

“Any opportunity to adorn oneself is human, and accessories are an easy way to do it.”

“The Louis Vuitton woman is more about a quality – a quality within some women that needs to come forward, to be noticed and recognized.”

“Living in the past or living in the future – those aren’t real. The moment is now, and that’s where safety and comfort and all that good stuff is.”

“I’ve learned a lot about doing accessories and making shoes and handbags. I don’t think my perspective has really changed. The subtlety of understanding yarns, what makes a fabric what it is – I’ve learned technical skills and more about the craft.”

“No one ever said ‘no’ to me about anything. No one ever told me anything was wrong. Never. No one ever said, ‘You can’t be a fashion designer.’ No one ever said, ‘You’re a boy and you can’t take tap-dancing lessons.’ No one ever said, ‘You’re a boy and you can’t have long hair.'”

“No one ever said ‘no’ to me about anything. No one ever told me anything was wrong. Never. No one ever said, ‘You can’t be a fashion designer.’ No one ever said, ‘You’re a boy and you can’t take tap-dancing lessons.’ No one ever said, ‘You’re a boy and you can’t have long hair.'”

“It’s sometimes said that I’m rebellious and I do things to push people’s buttons, but I just like the challenge.”

“For people that don’t have any interest in the psychology of nuance, who need everything to be in their face, who don’t want to analyze… those aren’t the people I romanticize about dressing.”

“I hate this idea that you have to love somebody because they are your family. Nobody can tell me what I’m supposed to feel and who I am supposed to feel it for.”

“I don’t need to be better than anybody or worse than anybody to feel better about myself. I just need to stick on my own path and stay in the moment as best I can.”

“Design is a series of creative choices – it’s a collaborative effort, an evolutionary process. You choose your fabrics depending upon what you want to say, then you work with mills to get those fabrics. Through the process, you realize what you want it to be.”

“I always find beauty in things that are imperfect. They are much more interesting.”

“Life is a fashion show and the world’s your runway.”

“I’ve been openly gay since I can remember.”

“It was never my desire to revolutionize fashion, to make clothes that could be in a museum. I want to create clothes that have a certain style, but I want to see them used. I want to see people enjoy the things I’ve made.”

“I think of many people and no one as a muse. I love the way Sofia looks always, and I love the way Kim looks always. Fashion may be part of their world, but it’s not their whole life. It’s not everything.”

“But I’m blessed to work with great people. I collaborate with brilliant stylists both here and in Paris. I work with a great design team. I really allow everyone to bring their ideas. I almost rely on them to inspire me.”

“I think it’s an old fashioned notion that fashion needs to be exclusive to be fashionable.”

“I love attention. Maybe my desire for attention is a little too out of control, but I’m very honest.”

“I empathize with women in their high heels so I’ll be there in my kilt and T-shirt and I’ll walk around all day just to prove that if I can wear the shoes for 36 hours then certainly our customer can wear them.”

“I do think that in order for a company to be interesting to the investment community, there needs to be a plan; there needs to be a bigger retail footprint. There needs to be this idea – DNA, lifestyle, words I hate.”

“It’s quite nice to see that I didn’t have to change who I was to reach two very different types of people.”

“Sometimes there are two very opposite directions, and we go with the stronger one at the end. It’s an impulse thing, like, ‘Oh, I love both so much, but it’s got to be one or the other because the two don’t work together.'”

“I always find it kind of embarrassing, kind of funny, and kind of exciting. In New York I’m recognized a lot, although nobody says anything. You know, they stare at you just a second too long. But in Paris it’s not as commonplace to be recognized.”

Marc Jacobs Office

72 Spring ST

NY, New York 10012

Thank you for reading this article. We hope it helped to give you a much broader perception of fashion. Share with all your family and friends!!!

Leave a Reply

