24 Fashion Inspired Quotes From Donna Karan

image

Donna Karan is one of my favorite designers of all time. I have not only looked at her 
clothing but in fact I wear them. My mother used to buy us the DKNY sneaks when we were children and I must say those were fly. I am beginning to believe that DKNY is much more popular on the East Coast than it is here in Colorado. Here are a few quotes that I put together to share with you just how fashion can inspire one woman to do amazing things.


24 Fashion Inspired Quotes From Donna Karan

“Delete the negative; accentuate the positive!”

“Whatever you’ve been given, it’s to give back.”

“I’m living my dream and that’s all that you can ask for.”
image

“Design is a constant challenge to balance comfort with luxe, the practical with the desirable.”

“Everything that I do is a matter of heart, body and soul.”

“Women should always take care of themselves first. It makes you more equipped to take care of others.”

“A challenge is an opportunity to be creative.”

“It’s all about finding the calm in the chaos.”

“We dress from the inside out. Top to toe. We make it easy to look good.”
image

“Black is the color that says and does it all. Period. End of story.”

“Design and style should work toward making you look good and feel good without a lot of effort so you can get on with the things that matter.”

“It’s really easy to get colors right. It’s really hard to get black – and neutrals – right. Black is certainly a color but it’s also an illusion.”

“Everything in life… has to have balance.”

“I design from instinct. It’s the only way I know to live. What feels good. What feels right. What is needed. Give me a problem and I will approach it creatively, from my gut.”

“I have always admired LVMH and the environment it has created for designers in supporting their creativity, emphasizing their individuality, respecting their brands and providing the resources to develop global luxury businesses.”

“Fashion is a creative art form that lives in the real world.”

“A woman’s passion is her greatest strength.”

“A fashion victim is dressed in designer clothes from head to toe.”

“For me, starting each collection is always about what I really want, what I really need, and I was personally dying for sensual comfort. I think when you think of Donna Karan, you think of sensuality, but it’s a different kind of sensuality. A kind of comfort sensuality that is one with your body and the way clothes feel (when they’re) on.”

“You know the thing I love about these oils There are four of them and you can play with them, you can mix them, you can put them in your bath, … And it’s not perfume – there’s no alcohol – so it’s the nature of who you are in your soul so it really connects on a very, very deep level. It’s like, you put it in your bag and let your handbag smell like it, it’s that kind of thing. It’s pure oil, pure essence, so it’s never harsh. It never has that cut.”

“I’d rather promote New York than anything else in this world because New York to me means the world.”

“If there’s hardware, it’s a functional hardware used for a purpose.”

“Today, fashion is really about sensuality- how a woman feels on the inside. In the eighties women used suits with exaggerated shoulders and waists to make a strong impression. Women are now more comfortable with themselves and their bodies- they no longer feel the need to hide behind their clothes.”

Thank you for reading this article! If you have any comments or quotes to add post them in the comments below. Don’t forget to share with family and friends.

Leave a Reply

